Study Abroad
image of study in Australia

The Australian National University

The Australian National University

The Australian National University Founded in 1946, it is the only university to have been created by the Parliament of Australia and world-leading university in Australia's capital city, Canberra. Their location points to our unique history, ties to the Australian Government and special standing as a resource for the Australian people. Their focus on excellence in research and education ensures Their graduates are in demand for the world-over, well-prepared to address complex contemporary challenges. The Australian National University has seven academic colleges that house a number of schools and research centers that specialize in a range of disciplines - all relevant but some unique in Australia and our region. The Australian National University has a rich and diverse history. Across our campuses, ANU manages places with Indigenous, historic and natural heritage value. These heritage values are embodied in the landscape, the buildings and the complex histories of the sites, the people who lived and worked at there, the events that occurred, and the discoveries that were made.ANU Global Engagement’s responsibility is to make the work of ANU accessible to our communities. Their work showcases the University’s intellectual leadership, brings to our communities the transformational experience ANU provides, helps achieve Their unique national role and reflects ANU values. They engage with governments, research and teaching institutes, the public and private sectors, Their students and staff, and the wider community through media, events and other activities that are aimed at contributing to conversations on major issues facing Australia and the world. We collaborate locally to serve the needs of Their community, and with international partners on a global scale.

Campuses & facilities

The main campus of ANU extends across the Canberra suburb of Acton, which consists of 358 acres (1.45 km2) of mostly parkland with university buildings landscaped within. ANU is roughly bisected by Sullivans Creek, part of the Murray–Darling basin, and is bordered by the native bushland of Black Mountain, Lake Burley Griffin, the suburb of Turner and the Canberra central business district. Many university sites are of historical significance dating from the establishment of the national capital, with over 40 buildings recognized by the Commonwealth Heritage List and several others on local lists.With over 10,000 trees on its campus, ANU won an International Sustainable Campus Network Award in 2009 and was ranked the 2nd greenest university campus in Australia in 2011.Four of Australia's five learned societies are based at ANU—the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and the Australian Academy of Law. The Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science and the National Film and Sound Archive are also located at ANU, while the National Museum of Australia and CSIRO are situated next to the campus.ANU occupies additional locations including Mount Stromlo Observatory on the outskirts of Canberra, Siding Spring Observatory near Coonabarabran, a campus at Kioloa on the South Coast of New South Wales and a research unit in Darwin.


The library of ANU originated in 1948 with the appointment of the first librarian, Arthur McDonald The library holds over 2.5 million physical volumes distributed across six branches—the Chifley, Menzies, Hancock, Art & Music, and Law Libraries and the external Print Repository. Chifley library is accessible for ANU staff and students 24 hours a day.


Master of Business Administration Master of Computing Master of Engineering in Mechatronics Master of Engineering in Digital Systems Master of Management Bachelor of Information Technology Master of Project Management Bachelor of Commerce Master of Accounting Master of Applied Finance Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Master of Business Information Systems Master of Biological Sciences Bachelor of Psychology (Honours) Master of Commerce Bachelor of Business Administration Bachelor of Environmental Studies Bachelor of Accounting Bachelor of International Business Bachelor of Arts - Sociology (Major) Master of Engineering in Photonics


Have A Question?
Post your Query

1 Candidate Info
2 Additional Info

Top Consultants

Top Universities

Need ‘Free Advise’ on the most suitable country or Course for you?

Contact me with your profile and I will give you the best possible options !
John Doe
Online Advisor

Choose any country

Guide me career.